Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

Budget Directory

Tags
Thursday, November 8, 2012 - 5:55am
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 5:50pm
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 4:06am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 1:24am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 4:05am
Tuesday, August 28, 2012 - 10:15pm
Tuesday, August 28, 2012 - 4:09am
Monday, August 13, 2012 - 5:52pm
Sunday, August 12, 2012 - 4:07am
Sunday, August 12, 2012 - 4:03am
Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 4:20am
Thursday, July 5, 2012 - 4:03am
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 - 4:00am
Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 4:04am
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 8:35pm
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 4:27am
Thursday, May 24, 2012 - 5:41pm
Thursday, May 24, 2012 - 3:53pm
Thursday, May 24, 2012 - 4:14am
Tuesday, May 8, 2012 - 4:03am
Friday, April 13, 2012 - 2:59pm
Thursday, April 12, 2012 - 12:00pm
Thursday, April 12, 2012 - 4:02am
Friday, April 6, 2012 - 4:03am
Tuesday, April 3, 2012 - 5:20pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2012 - 4:05am
Saturday, February 4, 2012 - 5:01am
Friday, February 3, 2012 - 8:58pm
Tuesday, January 3, 2012 - 5:18am
Tuesday, August 30, 2011 - 9:04pm
Monday, June 27, 2011 - 7:23pm